How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram or deleted their account?

Instagram has been one of the most used platforms nowadays and we also know that it is one of the highest income-generating assets for Meta, Facebook’s parent company.

It is also worth noting that Instagram is loved and used by millions around the world every day and ever since the introduction of Stories on Instagram, it is not looking back.

Apart from that, Instagram is also said to be pivoting to video-form content over image format which is a move being criticized by many around the world.

As far as Instagram is concerned, we are aware that there are some issues on the platform and the team is working on fixing them as well.

But when you try to open an Instagram profile and you see some error then either the person has blocked you or deactivated or deleted their Instagram account.

Having said that, you need to know the difference between being blocked by them or them having deleted or deactivated their Instagram account.

While you can’t do anything if you are blocked, there is comfort in knowing that their profile is deactivated or deleted and you are not blocked.

You may also see the Instagram Profile as Instagrammer in your DMs which means they have deactivated or deleted their Instagram account.

In this guide, we will tell you how you can identify if a person blocked you on Instagram or they deactivated or deleted their Instagram Profile.

How to tell if someone blocked you on Instagram or Restricted your account

There are two possible reasons why you might not be able to open someone’s Instagram profile.

Either, it is because you are blocked by them on Instagram or it is also possible that they restricted your account on Instagram.

In both cases, you will not be able to see their activity on Instagram but if they have restricted your account, they can see your activity.

Method #1: Check their Profile in Incognito Mode

Incognito Mode
Incognito Mode

If you are not able to see their profile on Instagram from your account then it is possible that they have blocked you.

In that case, what you can do is check their account from Chrome’s Incognito Mode which means you would not be logged into your account.

If you see their profile in Incognito Mode, it means that they have blocked you on Instagram.

However, if it says “Sorry, this page is not available” then it means that their account has been deleted or deactivated.

How to tell if someone deleted or deactivated their Instagram Account

If you feel that you have not been blocked on Instagram then you can check if they have deactivated or deleted their Instagram account or not.

As we mentioned earlier, you will see Instagram User or Instagrammer in DMs when a person deletes their Instagram Profile.

If someone has deleted their Instagram Account or deactivated it, you will see an error message saying “Sorry, that page isn’t available”.

This is a clear indication that the person you are trying to find has deleted or deactivated their Instagram account.

As we mentioned earlier, one of the best methods to check if a person has blocked you or deleted or deactivated their Instagram profile is to check their profile in Incognito Mode.

Apart from that, you can also ask your friends to investigate for you if an account has blocked you or they have deleted or deactivated their account.

It is also possible that their Instagram Account is locked due to some policy violations.

Method #1: Ask your friends to investigate

If you want to understand if someone has blocked you on Instagram or they have deactivated or deleted their profile then you can ask your friends to investigate it.

For example, you can ask your friend to go to the Instagram profile who might have blocked you or deleted their account.

If they are able to access their profile from their account then it means they have blocked you.

If they also see the same error message saying “Sorry, this page is not available” then it guarantees you that they have deleted or deactivated their Instagram profile.

Method #2: Check if their Username is changed

If you are unable to see the Instagram Profile of someone and fear that they might have blocked you or deleted their account then you can check if they changed their username or not.

When someone changes their username on Instagram, you will see the “Sorry, this page is not available” error message.

Now, the best way to find out if they changed their username is not is by asking them directly on other platforms such as Facebook or Twitter where they have a profile.

If they tell you that they have changed their username on Instagram then you can send them a follow request on the new account and sort everything out.

If they have changed their username but refuse to give you their new username then you can ask your mutual friends if they can give you their new username or not.

Conclusion

As we have mentioned in this article, there are a few ways in which you can check if an Instagram Profile is deleted or deactivated or if they have blocked you.

If you are unable to access their account from your profile but you are able to do so in incognito mode then they have blocked you.

If you see the error message saying “Sorry, this page is not available” then they have deleted their account.

You might also see this same error message when they have changed their username as well.

Follow all the methods mentioned in this article to find out if you are blocked on Instagram or have deleted or deactivated your account.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.