How to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account?

If you are also wondering about how to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account then this article is for you.

We live in a world where almost all of us now have a Facebook profile or an Instagram account or even a Twitter account.

Also, when you ask people about their most favorite and their least favorite social media platform, they will be able to answer and give their reasons as well.

Since people don’t like one or the other social media platform, they are also likely to abandon using that platform altogether which means their account could be inactive.

Now, a lot of people don’t bother about deleting their account even if it is not used for a while but there are people who think about deleting their unused social media accounts.

Also, it is a good practice to delete your unused social media account because it could get hacked and harm your reputation as well as privacy.

So, if someone has deleted their Facebook account then the real question is how can you know about it.

Therefore, in this article, we are going to tell you how to tell if someone has deleted their Facebook profile.

Also Read: How to Tell if Someone viewed your Snapchat story more than once?

How to tell if someone has deleted their Facebook Profile?

How to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account
How to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account

We understand that you really want to tell if someone has deleted their Facebook account or not and we are here to give you all the information regarding the same.

But we should also mention that when someone deletes their Facebook account or blocks you from their Facebook account, it is really similar.

So, we have tried to distinguish the signs of being blocked compared to someone deleting their Facebook account in this article.

Also Read: How To Tell If Someone Deleted Their Snapchat?

1. Search their Profile on Facebook

The first thing to do if you want to tell if someone has deleted their Facebook account is to search for their profile on Facebook.

The process of searching for anyone’s profile on Facebook is simple as you have to type the related user’s name and their profile should show up in search results.

How to tell if someone deleted their facebook
How to tell if someone deleted their Facebook/Credits: iStaunch

If you get no relevant results when you search someone’s profile on Facebook, it could either mean that they have deleted their account or it could also mean that they blocked you.

You might get the following error messages:

  • This page isn’t available
  • The link may be broken or the page may have been removed. Check to see if the link you’re trying to open is correct.

We must tell you that searching for someone’s profile on Facebook is not the best way to tell if someone has deleted their Facebook account.

Because it could also mean that the user has blocked you on Facebook since that is also the reason why you are not able to see their profile while searching.

So you are now wondering about how to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account. Don’t worry and keep reading as we have a few more ways to differentiate that down below.

2. Send them a message on Facebook Messenger

If you are searching for a particular profile on Facebook, you must be really close with that user or you might at least be in contact with the Facebook user.

In that case, you might have also chatted with them on Facebook Messenger at least once.

To tell if someone deleted their Facebook account, you need to open your old conversation and see if you can spot anything weird.

Once you search for the profile on Facebook Messenger and open your old conversation, you might see a message saying “This person is unavailable on Messenger”.

Now, this is also a message you see when either the person has blocked you on Facebook or if they have deleted their Facebook account.

But there is a difference. When you’re blocked, you will see a Delete button right under the “This person is unavailable” message at the bottom of the conversation.

However, you will not see the Delete button when the Facebook Account is deleted because the conversation will already be deleted.

Also, it is worth noting that when someone blocks you, you can still see their Profile Picture as well as their Name on Messenger.

But when a Facebook Profile is deleted, you will just see a blank or default Facebook Profile Picture and their name will be changed to Facebook User.

Also, when you tap on the Profile Picture and it opens, it means that a particular profile has blocked you. When a Facebook Profile is deleted, you tap on their Profile Picture and nothing happens.

In this way, you can identify if you’re blocked by the Facebook Profile or if the Facebook Profile has been deleted.

3. Check via Mutual Friends on Facebook

If you have mutual friends with the profile you are investigating on Facebook then there are a few things you can try in order to tell if they deleted their Facebook account.

Ask them to check if they can search for their profile on Facebook. If they can then it means the user blocked you on Facebook but if they can’t then it means that their profile is indeed deleted.

Also, Facebook removes photo tags from accounts that have been deleted so if your mutual friends have ever uploaded a photo and tagged this particular Facebook profile then see if that tag is still there or not.

If the tag is removed then the Facebook Profile is deleted. But if your mutual friend sees that the tag is there, you have been blocked.

Wrapping Up

In this article, we have mentioned how to tell if someone deleted their Facebook and we have also told you how to differentiate between a blocked profile and deleted profile on Facebook.

When you’re blocked, you can still ask someone to search for their profile and tell you if their profile is still active.

But if the Facebook profile is deleted, no one will be able to search for their profile.

Also, it is possible to deactivate someone’s Facebook Profile instead of deleting it permanently.

On Facebook, deactivating Facebook Profile is for an indefinite time period which means you can keep your account deactivated for as long as you want and then reactivate it whenever you feel.

However, you get a 30-day notice period once you apply to delete your Facebook account after which all your information will be destroyed and this process is irreversible.

With this, we hope that you were able to understand the concept of blocking, deleting, and deactivating a Facebook account properly and also how to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account.

Share this article with your Facebook friends who are also wondering about how to tell if someone deleted their Facebook account.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.